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Instructions for Submitting an Application for a 
Concealed Carry Firearms Training Instructor  
 

 

Metropolitan Police Department · Security Officers Management Branch  
2000 14th Street, NW · Washington, DC 20009 · 202-671-0500 

 

 

Pursuant to recent amendments to the Firearms Regulations Control Act of 1975 (D.C. Act 20-447), 

anyone applying for a concealed pistol license in the District of Columbia must receive firearms training 

from a Firearms Training Instructor that has been certified by the Metropolitan Police Department.   

 

The requirements for a certified Firearms Training Instructor are found in Title 24, Chapter 23, Section 

2347 of the District of Columbia Municipal Regulations (included below). Applicants for a Firearms 

Training Instructor certification should review both the applicable regulations and the Firearms 

Regulation Control Act to understand District law and requirements. Violations of District legal 

requirements will be enforced.  

 

Checklist for submission of a Concealed Carry Firearms Training Instructor certification 

application: 

 

1. Complete the Firearms Training Instructor Application, including signing and dating the form. 

2. Attach proof of your formal training in the care, safety, and use of firearms, which can include a 

current Law Enforcement Instructor identification card issued by the National Rifle Association or 

Instructor Certification from the Department of Criminal Justice Services Private Security Services. 

3. Attach proof that you have had at least one year of experience in instruction in the care, safety, and 

use of handguns.  

4. Attach a detailed syllabus describing the methods and materials you will use to conduct the firearms 

training for a concealed carry license. The course materials must meet the requirements of the 

Firearms Regulations Control Act and must refer to the information provided by the Metropolitan 

Police Department on District of Columbia law on self-defense.  

5. Include a cashier’s check, certified check, or money order payable to the D.C. Treasurer in the 

amount of $435 for a two-year certification. No personal checks, credit cards, or cash are accepted.   

 

Note to Currently Licensed Firearms Instruction Trainers: If as of October 9, 2014, you are licensed 

by the Metropolitan Police Department to provide firearms training to special police officers, you will 

not pay the $435 certification fee until your firearms instructor license is up for renewal in March 2015. 

You also will not need to be photographed or fingerprinted. 

 

Bring all the items noted above to the Security Officers Management Branch at 2000 14
th

 Street, NW, 

Washington, DC 20009. The hours of operation are Monday through Thursday, 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.  When 

you submit your application to the Security Officers Management Branch, you will be fingerprinted and 

photographed.  

 

If you have any questions, please contact the Security Officers Management Branch at 202-671-0500 or 

by email at SOMB.AdminBox@dc.gov. 

 

mailto:SOMB.AdminBox@dc.gov


Rev. 10/14 

Firearms Training Instructor Certification Regulations 

as of October 20, 2014 

(DC Municipal Regulations Title 24, Chapter 23, Section 2347) 

 
2347 FIREARMS TRAINING 

INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 
2347.1 Any person providing firearms training to 

an applicant for a concealed carry license 

shall obtain a valid certification issued by 

the Chief in accordance with this section. 

2347.2 A certified firearms training instructor 

shall obtain proof of certification from the 

Chief before providing instruction to an 

applicant for a concealed carry license. 

2347.3 Upon a person’s satisfactory completion 

of a required firearms training course, a 

certified firearms training instructor shall: 

(a)  Provide the person a firearms 

training certificate that includes: 

(1) The person’s name and date 

of birth; 

(2)  The instructor’s name; 

(3)  The length in hours of the 

course; 

(4) The date of course 

completion; 

(5)  The location of the training; 

(6)  A declaration certifying that 

the course met the minimum 

standards prescribed by the 

Act and the Chief; and 

(7)  A declaration certifying that 

the person completed the 

course; and 

(b) Submit the requisite information to 

the Firearms Registration Section. 

2347.4 A certified firearms training instructor 

application shall be submitted to the 

Security Officers Management Branch in 

the format prescribed by the Chief. 

2347.5 The certified firearms training instructor 

application shall: 

(a)  Meet, with the exception of section 

203(a)(13)(A) (D.C. Official Code 

§ 7-2502.03(a)(13)(A) (2014 

Supp.)), all of the requirements for 

a person registering a firearm 

pursuant to  the Firearms Control 

Regulations Act of 1975 (the Act), 

effective September 24, 1976 (D.C. 

Law 1-85; D.C. Official Code § 7-

2501.01 et seq. (2012 Repl. & 2014 

Supp.)); 

(b) Include the applicant’s name, 

address, driver’s license or other 

government issued photographic 

identification, place and date of 

birth, home address and telephone 

number, work address and 

telephone number, email address, 

name and location of firing range to 

be used to provide training, and 

business website address (optional); 

(c) Include proof of the applicant’s 

formal training in the care, safety, 

and use of firearms, which may be 

satisfied pursuant to the conditions 

stated in section 902(c) of the Act;  

(d)  Include proof of the applicant’s 

minimum of one (1) year of 

experience in instruction in the care, 

safety, and use of handguns; and 

(e) Include a detailed syllabus 

describing the methods and 

materials the trainer will use to 

conduct the firearms training for a 

concealed carry license. 

2347.6 Any person licensed by the Chief as of the 

effective date of the Act to provide 

firearms instruction training to special 

police officers and who is seeking to be 

certified under this section shall not be 

required to pay the fees listed under § 

2331.1; provided, that he or she shall pay 

the fees upon renewal of his or her 

firearms instructor license in March 2015.  

2347.7 Upon receipt of a properly completed 

application, the Chief shall issue a 

certification or denial to the applicant 

within a reasonable time. 

2347.8 A certified firearms training instructor 

license expires two (2) years from the date 

of issuance. 
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Firearms Training Course Requirements 

as of October 20, 2014 

(DC Municipal Regulations Title 24, Chapter 23, Section 2336) 

 
2336 FIREARMS TRAINING COURSE REQUIRMENTS 

 

2336.1 To satisfy the firearms training eligibly requirement of § 2332.1(e), a person shall obtain a 

certificate of completion from an instructor (or instructors) certified by the Chief that includes at 

least sixteen (16) hours of training, and covers the following: 

 

(a)  Firearm safety, including firearm safety in the home, a discussion of prevention of access by 

minors, locking and storing of firearms, and use of safety devices such as secure lock boxes;  

 

(b)  Firearm nomenclature; 

 

(c)  The basic principles of marksmanship; 

 

(d)  The care, cleaning, maintenance, loading, unloading, and storage of pistols; 

 

(e)  Situational awareness, conflict management, and moral and ethical decisions on the use of 

deadly force; 

 

(f)  Defensive pistol and ammunition selection; and 

 

(g)  All applicable District and federal firearms laws, including the requirements of the Act, An 

Act To control the possession, sale, transfer, and use of pistols and other dangerous weapons 

in the District of Columbia, to provide penalties, to prescribe rules of evidence, and for other 

purposes, approved July 8, 1932 (47 Stat. 650; D.C. Official Code § 22-4501 et seq.), and 

District law pertaining to self-defense. 

 

2336.2 In addition to the requirements of § 2336.1, a person shall complete at least two (2) hours of range 

training, including shooting a qualification course of fifty (50) rounds of ammunition from a 

maximum distance of fifteen (15) yards (forty-five (45) feet), and receiving a qualifying score of 

seventy percent (70%) as certified by the instructor. 

 

2336.3 The Chief may, on a case by case basis, exempt a person from the requirements of §§ 2336.1 and 

2336.2 if the person submits evidence that he or she has received firearms training in the U.S. 

military or has otherwise completed firearms training conducted by a firearms instructor that, as 

determined by the Chief, is equal to or greater than that required by the Act. 

 

2336.4 An applicant may submit to the Chief the application required under § 2337 without including the 

certificate of completion of training required by this section; provided that if the Chief preliminarily 

approves the application pursuant to § 2339, the applicant has forty-five (45) days to submit the 

certificate of completion and successfully complete the range training. 

 


